GIAHS: All you need to know about Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems

- Advertisement -

To protect and support the world’s agricultural heritage systems and raise awareness about these unique agricultural practices and landscapes, Globally Important Agricultural Heritage Systems (GIAHS) was started in 2002 by the FAO, a specialized agency of the United Nations that works tirelessly to defeat hunger and improve nutrition as well as food security.

Landscapes of Aesthetic Beauty

GIAHS are amazing landscapes of aesthetic beauty that combine agri-biodiversity, cultural heritage and resilient ecosystems.

Integrated Approach

According to experts, GIAHS aims to recognize and preserve traditional food systems and support the small-scale farmers who work within them, fostering an integrated approach featuring sustainable farming and rural development.

From Application to Designation: How GIAHS sites are recognized

GIAHS: Goals & Objectives

• Capacity building of local farming communities

• Adding economic value to goods and services of such systems in a sustainable way

• Identifying ways to mitigate risks of erosion of biodiversity, land degradation and threats due to globalisation

• Assessment of existing policies and incentive mechanisms

• Identification of modalities to bolster support for sustainable agricultural practices

• Strengthening conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and natural resources

• Reducing vulnerability to climate change

• Enhancing sustainable agriculture and rural development

• Contributing to food security and poverty alleviation

In short, the GIAHS initiative due to its explicit recognition of multifarious issues and roles associated with farming has the potential to provide a meaningful contribution to achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).